Facebook Security Feature Lets You Delete Your Account Permanently

Have you ever wondered what happens to your Facebook account when you pass on?

Whether you would like to be remembered or forgotten on Facebook, the leading social networking site has options and features for you to rightfully choose what happens to your Facebook account (and pages you manage) when you pass on.

In April 2016, the controversial “right to be forgotten” was enacted into a law in the European Union giving a stricter and tougher data privacy for EU citizens using the internet.

In an effort to make my Facebook account more secure from hackers and potential security threats, it led me to find out more about Facebook Security Features which will provide for a better experience for all users including those outside the EU.

Known to the online world as a top social networking site, Filipinos alone contributing to 47 Million active Facebook users, it would be of great value to know some of the unpopular Facebook security features of the networking site.

Here are some security features which you may not know yet and how to enable them:

TRUSTED CONTACTS

This security feature “Trusted Contacts” allows you choose a Facebook friend or contact which can help you whenever you have trouble logging in, or if you get locked out of your own Facebook account.

step-2-trusted-contacts
You can use your Trusted Contacts from your list of friends.

When you assign someone to be your Trusted Contact, he or she will receive a notification regarding this request. He or she will then have to confirm the request on his or her account.

WHERE YOU’RE LOGGED IN

You can check (or double-check) the apps, devices and locations where your account is logged in using the “Where You’re Logged In”  feature.

step-3-where-youre-logged-in
View all your active sessions and history.

The Current Session will display the location and device type that you are using to view this particular settings.

You can choose to “End All Activity” or choose which particular activity on a specific device you would like to end. Ending the activity means you will be logged out of these devices and applications. To use the service again, you will be prompted to enter the login details.

MEMORIALIZED ACCOUNT or PERMANENT DELETION

The Legacy Contact is different from your Trusted Contacts.

When you choose to remain on Facebook after you pass on, your account may be memorialized. The process for memorializing an account begins when someone you know, notifies Facebook about your passing.

step-4-legacy-contact
Assign a Legacy Contact from your list of Friends.

READ: HOW TO REPORT A DECEASED PERSON OR ACCOUNT TO BE MEMORIALIZED

You can also assign this feature beforehand by assigning a Legacy Contact.

This feature will allow your Legacy Contact to update your profile as how you will manage a Facebook account. The changes made on your account will be seen as your Legacy Contact’s update.

The Legacy Contact feature does not allow the contact an access to your messages or any of your previous activities.

Legacy Contacts won’t be automatically notified until your account has been memorialized. You have the option to let them know that you made them a Legacy Contact thru message.

REQUEST FOR ACCOUNT DELETION

If you choose to be “forgotten” when you pass on, you can opt for your account to be permanently deleted.

step-4-legacy-contact-delete-account-after-death
Selecting “Delete After Death” will permanently delete your account on Facebook when someone lets them know that you passed on.

With the “Delete After Death” feature, you are officially requesting Facebook to delete your account permanently when you pass on.

All information including your profile details, photos and posts will no longer be available on the social networking site. This effect will only take place after Facebook has verified that the request is valid and true.

step-1
Go to Account Settings from the drop-down menu of your Facebook profile.

You can access all these Facebook security features by going to Account Settings > Security on your account.

 

1 Comment

  1. A .Antovska

    December 19, 2016 at 1:55 am

    Interesting and helpful post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Inline
Inline